National Asthma Month

Mothers must bring their children to the local health clinic to have an asthma treatment, and must wait in line due to a shortage of nebulizers.

When my son starts wheezing and struggling to breathe, we reach for his inhaler. Because he is still learning to coordinate his inhalation with the “puffer,” we keep our nebulizer (a small air compressor that produces a medicated mist) on hand. It is easy to slip on the mask so my son can breathe in the medicated mist which causes his breathing to return to normal. Within minutes, he is ready to run back outside and I breathe easier as well.

We have options at our finger tips and always have since his first episode of respiratory distress when he was just three months old. My son just turned seven and soon he will be able to use his puffer independently. I will then be ready to give up our nebulizer. I know that mothers like me in resource-poor communities in countries like Haiti, Nicaragua and Bolivia, do not have the same options for their asthmatic children. Global Links provides a solution to connect these two scenarios. I can donate my “retired” nebulizer so it can be redirected to help other mothers and their chilren breathe easier. As my son and I learn to manage his asthma better, I know that our retired machine will help families do the same.
For information on Global Links Nebulizer Campaign, http://www.globallinks.org/get_involved/nebulizer_campaign.php

Leave a Reply

